Brain Workout plus 20 Gulps

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Two Right Feet.”

What are the things you need to do within 30 minutes of waking up to ensure your day gets off on the right foot? What happened the last time you didn’t do one of these things? 

My alarm goes off an hour earlier than I really have to get up.  I don’t know if this is a good thing or not, since there is no sense of urgency.  Sometimes I hear it, sometimes I don’t.  My alarm is not the usual buzzer or radio alarm.  My alarm is a neurogym meditation.  It’s best to listen to these first thing in the morning right when you get up since one is in Alpha state, indicating deep relaxation.  Some days I hear the start of it and continue listening for the rest of the 30 minutes while lying down.  Some days I hear the start of it, dismiss it, and fall back asleep.  Some days, I wake up to the last 5 minutes of it.    Either way is fine with me since it’s really a pre-alarm to my actual urgent alarm . . . the kids on a school day.

Before my feet hit the floor, I pick up my thermos and take 20 gulps of water with lemon oil.  Your body hasn’t had water all that time you’ve been asleep, so it’s best to hydrate first thing in the morning.  The lemon oil helps flush out any toxins in the body.

When I don’t listen to my neurogym entirely, well, I have to make time for it later in the day.  I normally don’t miss my 20 gulps of lemon water, however, when I do, I’m pretty sluggish and not as energized as usual.  Once I’m aware of this, I reach for my thermos.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

